SERIES IMAGES MARK 2

So. For this task we were given near enough the same project but this time I had been given specific sizes to keep to, so again I chose Architecture but Sculpture as my second subject. Here is the list of sizes we were given…

SIZES:

25-175mm/portait

280-40mm/landscape

100-55mm/portait

55-40mm/landscape

What I decided to do was to turn it into centimetres so I could draw out the shapes so I would know what kind of photos I could take and what to consider when taking my images…

78u

MY SKETCHES 

I now decided where I would take my images and did some research online so I came to the decision to do my photo session in the Cardiff Museum due to the great architecture features in the main areas. They have a fine collection of sculptures which can make great photo to experiment with in photoshop.

Once I had my photos from my session I decided how I should approach using photoshop on them. My method was ‘giving more by less’ just simplifying the image so I didn’t loose the original image by chucking too much at it. I started by turning the images into grey scale then applying duotone, then using white as a base colour for both series, then I chose different colours starting with architecture choosing a duller blue which seemed a nice touch but it was missing the texture in the photo so I decided to use the invert tool on the series, which then really brought the textures in each photo for architecture which I think then made a nice series. Now moving on to the sculpture series I approached it the same starting with where I had the white base colour but looking at the sculpture photos. Taking in account that the sculptures have a proud history of strong looking men.I decided to use a older looking type of red which in Roman times, red showed power so this was the reason for my choice of colour. I looked at the outcomes but felt it was to standard for my liking so I experimented with layers and opacity on each photo which I think gave the photo or canvas of the image much more to it and had more to consider. Here are the out comes for both series….

SCULPTURE

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

 

ARCHITECURE

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Leave a Reply

