Grid System

Today I learnt about grid systems, a grid system helps you to layout a spread for a magazine or poster. It was interesting to learn how it came about, in ancient Greece they  created buildings and statues by using this system. I also learnt that the grid system could be used in many different ways such as organising a layout for a painting and so on.In Davids lecture we looked at magazines in groups of two and looked through the different magazines and tried to decipher what grid system they were using. After looking at a couple of magazines Sherlock and I discovered that most magazines, use the 12 grid system to layout their spreads we thought they used this system due to the big bundle of information they had to include. But after this lecture, I feel I now can use the grid system if needed. I would like to use the grid system while making my type specimen poster. grid Heres an image of my notes on the pages and the layouts of the information and images in the magazine spreads we looked at.

Leave a Reply

